Skip to content

WPF based NewsReaders

February 27, 2007

NewsReaders

Building on previous success with the New York Times Reader, last week we saw a few announcements of new readers.  Great to see partners like IdentityMine and Conchango getting in this game!

Tim introduces them nicely.  Scott Guthrie starts doing some WPF blogging digging into FlowDocuments.

Some personal critique + nits on these preview editions:

Seattle PI:

  • I enjoy having my local paper online in this richer way!
  • This Sunday when I was up on Whidbey Island, I was upset that I couldn’t read any new content…The Seattle Times provides the Sunday paper.  Doh!
  • Nit: Icon in start menu is in a folder, when there is only one item.  This isn’t following Shell design guidelines.
  • The splash screen is not only modal to the PI Reader, but to all apps.
  • Today’s Pictures: Want to use keyboard for this. (arrow keys)  Also, would love fuller screen like Times Readers pictures.
  • I want to understand visually which section I am in.

Forbes.com:

  • Seems like there is too much whitespace at the top of the page
  • Nit: Icon in start menu is in a folder, when there is only one item.  This isn’t following Shell design guidelines.
  • I want to understand visually which section I am in
  • probably more to come here…will keep better track next issue I read…

We’ll see what my Mom says.  She has been a fan of the Times Reader.

One Comment
  1. Kurt permalink

    Rob, thanks for the feedback on the readers.  The guys may have already reviewed your post but if not I\’ll forward over your critque so that maybe we can address some of them in future versions.
     
    – Kurt

Leave a Reply

