Skip to content

Software Feedback: Using Ricciolo PaperBoy 0.2 (WPF RSS Reader)

March 10, 2007

I noticed a new RSS reader called Ricciolo PaperBoy on the WPF Application list a few days ago.  (I link to that applist at the top left of my blog: rrelyea.spaces.live.com…in case you forget the applist url)  It is a codeplex project.  This morning I’m doing my RSS reading in it and keeping track of my opinions.

My experience with RSS readers is not deep:

  • The first reader I used was newsgator, which was integrated with Outlook.  I liked the ability to easily forward posts to my coworkers.
  • I now use IE’s RSS functionality and do my RSS reading along with my web surfing.

Will somebody build an experience that is rich enough to get me to have a dedicated app or xbap…I think so, but lets see how it develops.  Giving my feedback will make it more likely. 

 

Impressions

Opportunity: the first time I ran this v0.2 project, i was getting several runtime exceptions.  (today I haven’t hit them at all. – Spoke too soon…I got some when I view certain posts…like mine.)

Nice: When I was getting those exceptions, a "phone home" feature took action to report the problem to the app author.  Good promise in this area…dr. watson crash reporting like…

Nice: WPF based reading experience is pleasant.  Modeled like Outlook with folders for each feed, lists of posts, and a previews screen.

Opportunity: Should consider using multiple columns via FlowDocuments in WPF (ala Times Reader)  I read most of my content on a 20 in. lcd monitor, and columns are very nice.

Opportunity: similar to the last one, I’d love scaling text like Times Reader.

Nice: uses the IE RSS store.  Things I read with PaperBoy show up as read in IE’s RSS reading experience

Opportunity: I want an easier way to navigate through the unread posts…ideally I could enter a new posts only mode and use only arrow keys like with the Times Reader…right arrow  – next post…down arrow – next page of this post, etc…  (not sure that is the right model…but I don’t want to touch my mouse as it appears I have to now.)   

(Update: I just found that space cycles through unread messages.  But it seems like I still have to use the mouse to jump to the next feed with unread posts???  Also, it is odd that you first go to the latest post and read that, but when you press space it jumpst to the oldest unread post…so you end up reading post 10, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 if you had already read 1-4.)

Nice: transition animation when you click on one post to another (the text content fades in – via opacity?)

Opportunity: Make it easy to read comments, post a comment, etc…  I don’t want to have to go to the html page.

Nice: clicking on a link in a post to an html page, opens a new tab with IE hosted inside that Tab (via WinForms BrowserObject or WPF’s Frame?)  Seems smooth.  Mousing over the tab gives you a thumbnail preview of the page.

Nice: "Open Item"/Into New Window – opens the post in IE for me…I like this to collect posts that I want to comment on, blog about, etc…

Opportunity: Similar to that last "nice"…how can an rss reader help me collect lists of posts and create a blog post with a list of links, titles, and my comments.

Opportunity: Help/About doesn’t list where to get the app…some URL…perhaps I forgot where I got it from…

Opportunity: I had to download a zip and run an .exe!!  Would much prefer to install via a click on a .application!  (is codeplex the issue here?)

 

Your PaperBoy Thoughts

Give it a try…what other things do you find nice and what other opportunities do you see?

 

Your RSS Reader Thoughts

What is your favorite RSS reader?  Why?

What is your favorite WPF based RSS reader?  How can/should it improve to be more competitive?

 

My Closing Thoughts

After an hour of using this reader…it has potential…I’ll start using it daily and see how it goes.  Would love to see the issues above addressed!

I registered as a user on codeplex and posted a comment in the PaperBoy forum.

From → Software Should

10 Comments
  1. Douglas Stockwell permalink

    Hi Rob, I think the exceptions shown viewing your blog are related to a malformed image that Live Spaces probably uses for tracking. Try this in XamlPad:
     
    <Image xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/winfx/2006/xaml/presentation&quot; Source="http://c.live.com/c.gif&quot; />
    I think it may be bug in WPF that the exception isn\’t swallowed earler, for example, if you change the above url to an image which doesn\’t exist, the 404 "not found" error *is* swallowed.
     
    I\’d love if you can pass this on – I\’m in dire need of a workaround. When I attempt to view your blog, or in fact any Spaces blog in my own RSS Reader (RikReader), an error is raised on the Render Thread and the application requires a restart.

  2. Cristian permalink

    Hi Rob, thanks for your suggestions, I have many ideas to implement and bugs to resolve. I will work hard to improve PaperBoy😉
    I confirm Douglas wpf bug. I can\’t resolve it or disable error because the rendering engine requires an application restart.

  3. Rob permalink

    Thanks for telling me about the image file that is causing wpf problems here…I have an email out to the imaging team to understand the issue…

  4. Willem permalink

    Kinda like the application, although it would be even greater with the flowdocument viewer.
    I\’m unsure at this point whether it automatically updates the feeds every hour or so. But as far as I can see now it doesn\’t, it would be pretty cool to have that. 
     
    I think paperboy is a great example of what you can do with WPF.

  5. Unknown permalink

    wow gold!All wow gold US Server 24.99$/1000G on sell! Cheap wow gold,wow gold,wow gold,Buy Cheapest/Safe/Fast WoW US EU wow gold Power leveling wow gold from the time you World of Warcraft gold ordered!

    wow power leveling wow power leveling power leveling wow power leveling wow powerleveling wow power levelingcheap wow power leveling wow power leveling buy wow power leveling wow power leveling buy power leveling wow power leveling cheap power leveling wow power leveling wow power leveling wow power leveling wow powerleveling wow power leveling power leveling wow power leveling wow powerleveling wow power leveling buy rolex cheap rolex wow gold wow gold wow gold wow gold

    wow gold
    wow gold
    wow gold
    wow gold
    wow gold
    wow gold
    wow gold
    wow gold
    wow gold
    wow gold
    wow gold
    wow gold
    wow gold
    wow gold
    wow gold
    wow gold
    wow gold
    wow gold
    wow gold
    wow gold
    wow gold
    wow gold
    wow gold
    wow gold
    wow gold
    wow gold
    wow gold
    wow gold
    wow gold
    wow gold
    wow gold
    wow gold
    wow gold
    wow gold
    wow gold
    wow gold
    wow gold
    wow gold
    wow gold
    wow power leveling
    wow power leveling
    wow power leveling
    wow power leveling
    wow power leveling
    wow power leveling
    wow power leveling
    wow power leveling
    wow power leveling
    wow power leveling
    wow power leveling
    wow power leveling
    wow power leveling
    wow power leveling
    wow power leveling
    wow power leveling
    wow power leveling
    wow power leveling
    wow power leveling
    wow power leveling
    wow power leveling
    wow power leveling
    wow power leveling
    wow power leveling
    wow power leveling
    wow power leveling
    wow power leveling
    wow power leveling
    wow power leveling
    wow power leveling
    wow power leveling
    wow power leveling
    wow power leveling
    wow power leveling
    wow power leveling
    wow power leveling
    wow power leveling
    wow power leveling
    wow power leveling -5339274672589

  6. Unknown permalink

    gold wow
    gold wow
    gold wow
    gold wow
    gold wow
    gold wow
    gold wow
    gold wow -20992259034908

  7. Unknown permalink


    信是個富有挑戰的工作,忙碌、刺激、激情。最后的結局總是有人哭,有人笑。在徵信社工作的幾年時間里,我感悟到很多生活的無奈與殘酷。閑暇時我去中古车市
    场,感覺工作太緊張,放松一下而已,不是純粹的為了淘二手车。私家偵探也就是徵信工作人員似乎是個很酷的詞,但是如果誰需要私家偵探來幫忙的話,他(她)
    的婚姻也許已經亮起了紅燈。每天陪著星際客戶喝著咖啡,似乎是一件很爽的事,可是她們的眼淚比咖啡要苦的多。常常聽他們說嘈雜的燈光音響麻痹著他們的神
    經,讓他們過著醉生夢死的生活。其實,誰不渴望幸福美滿的愛情。沒有團體制服不了那些玩弄生活、玩弄感情的人,于是,徵信社應運而生。這不知道是人們的福
    音還是不幸,希望天下的每一個人都歡樂著、幸福著。坐月子是女人一生的大事,女人可以为了襁褓中的婴儿放弃一直引用的红酒而吃月子餐,这时候的女人是幸福
    而伟大的。有人歡喜有人優,有人狂笑有人大哭,我不想看到女人太多的眼淚,辭職后,我做了一位安靜、平和的室內設計師。虽然上下班没有了车接车送,但我租
    车怡然自得。偶爾和Fake
    Rolex Watch, Breitling
    Replica Watch, Best
    replica watches, Omega
    Replica Watches ecosway的朋友小聚,很愜意

  8. Unknown permalink

    她的人生杭州装饰注定不能由自己杭州中央空调销售决定,当踏入杭州家装这深宅大院,她就知道杭州空调维修今生今世都将被束缚。三从四德的为妻之道杭州办公室装修她是懂的呀,只是为什么杭州装修面对他和他的所爱,她的心却回复杭州空调维修公司不了原来的杭州装饰公司简单?他怎么可能杭州空调移机爱上她呢?他心系杭州家政国家大事,也有青梅竹马的恋人, 他要杭州厂房装修怎么取舍她与她呵!而国事与情事杭州店面装修孰重孰轻?他要杭州空调维修怎么掂量这个生活中杭州装修公司越来越不可缺少的女子?

  9. Unknown permalink

    Amberdigital Branch,Southern Stars Enterprises Co is specializing in the development and manufacturing of advertising displays, advertising player and LCD displays. Established in 1996, we have explored and developed the international market with professionalism. We have built a widespread marketing network, and set up a capable management team dedicated to provide beyond-expectation services to our customers.

    amberdigital Contact Us
    Southern Stars Enterprises Co (Hong Kong Office)
    Add:3 Fl, No.2, Lane 2, Kam Tsin Tsuen, Sheung Shui, Hong Kong
    Tel:+852 2681 4099
    Fax:+852 2681 4586
    Southern Stars Enterprises Co (Shenzhen Office)
    Add:DE, 16/F, Building 2, Nanguo Tower, Sungang Road, Shenzhen, China
    Tel:+86 755 2592 9100
    Fax:+86 755 2592 7171
    E-mail:sstar@netvigator.com
    website:www.amberdigital.com.hk
    alibaba:amberdigital.en.alibaba.com[aichagdaege

Leave a Reply

