Skip to content

Why is XamlT clickonce deployed?

June 7, 2007

Anybody else like to see an .exe version of XamlT in addition to click once?  Personally, I find it annoying that I need to put Reflector someplace myself…I love Petzold‘s XamlCruncher because it is easy to install.

Internal mail thread, read from bottom:

From: MS Guy 
Wouldn’t be the first time I was an oddball…🙂

—-

From: Rob Relyea
How typical are users like u?

I've never heard push back against clickonce before.
----
From: MS Guy 

Win+R.🙂

I’ve got a Utilities directory that I mirror across my machines. Anything that’s in there is automatically available everywhere. Like Reflector.🙂

I guess I just dislike installers in general since they require elevation, can break stuff, I can’t see what they’re doing, etc..

—-

From: Rob Relyea
I do that so I can update the app automatically. 

Do you not want a start menu entry?
How do you like launching your apps?
----
From: MS Guy  
Subject: Why is XamlT clickonce?

I’m the kind of guy that doesn’t like installing stuff I don’t need to.🙂 Are there limitations to making it a standalone EXE?

From → XamlT

19 Comments
  1. Jeff permalink

    I also hate clickonce. I just want an EXE I can download and run.While I agree with the guy in the above mail thread that installers in general are bad, I specifically hate ClickOnce because I use FireFox instead of IE, and ClickOnce doesn\’t work from within FireFox. It\’s not "click once" at all – I have to fire up a different browser, copy & paste a url, THEN click once, then close IE.

  2. Aaron permalink

    I don\’t have strong feelings against clickonce, but I do know that I much prefer a stand-alone .exe that I can copy where I like, and run how I like (i.e. I also have a "utils" directory with the small useful apps I find myself consistently referencing).  Reflector does it and still manages to have auto-updates, and regardless, for utility applications (as opposed to full-scale, or enterprise applications) I don\’t mind if they don\’t autoupdate. It\’s just as easy (practically) to visit a webpage and download a new .exe.

  3. Arne Claassen permalink

    I love the concept of click-once. Except it doesn\’t work in Firefox and it doesn\’t work in Firefox in an obscure way that makes my App look broken to the user. Therefore I would never use it and every time i come across a click-once link, I need to copy the link fire up IE and then run it.. Or more likely, I\’ve lost interest in finding out what that app would actually do for me. So, in its present form, i think click-once only makes it harder on the user base, not easier.

  4. Kevin permalink

    I like clickonce. I HATE having to put exes somewhere. Everytime I build a new environment, I\’ve got to manually create a Reflector folder in program files, copy the move the exe, and then manually create a shortcut.

  5. Oran permalink

    Hmmm… is it a desktop app, is it a web app, or is it something in between?😉
     
    Convert it to Silverlight and see if you still get this question.  WPF ClickOnce/Silverlight is the future.

  6. Rob permalink

    Interesting comments all the way around.  Thanks…keep them coming.
     
    About Silverlight…I could imagine part of this app working via Silverlight eventually, I have plans.  I also believe that it would not be able to replace the wpf version, as I have many plans for that…

  7. nerddawg permalink

    The flaw in MS Guy\’s reasoning is to club ClickOnce with Windows installer technologies (like MSI). ClickOnce is per user and apps are isolated from each other, MSI is per machine and apps can stomp over each other if you aren\’t careful. ClickOnce does NOT require elevation, MSI does. Also, unlike with Custom Actions in an MSI, ClickOnce does not let user code run during the "install" greatly reducing if not totally eliminating the potential of turds left behind. The fact that it creates shortcuts on your desktop just as an MSI installed program can cloud things. I suggest MS Guy RTFM🙂

  8. Shawn permalink

    ClickOnce is nifty for end-users in corporate environments.  That\’s it.
     
    For developers: give us the EXE we\’ll stick it in the directory with all our other dev tools.
     
    For general public end-users: see the Firefox issue mentioned already.  Give them an MSI.
     
    Bonus points if the app phones home, to detect newer versions of itself available online…  but not required.

  9. John permalink

    Ditto on Aaron\’s comments. Give me an exe — I LIKE knowing where it goes and picking the directory.

  10. Robert permalink

    Clickonce (including clickonce-deployed xbaps) sometime can not be installed when the user is behind a proxy. This is the case here. I really would love to try this application …

  11. Rob permalink

    BitBonk-
    I will try to move to also providing an Exe only versoin of this tool, since it is a utility for developers.  Not sure how soon I will get to that.
     
    In the meantime, I would think that anybody behind a proxy that blocks any WPF-related content type (.xaml, .application, .xbap, .deploy, etc…) should be fixed to not block that…right?
    Seems that if an exe can get though, i\’m not sure why .application should be blocked?
     
    THoughts?

  12. Unknown permalink

    lotro gold lord of the rings gold lord of the rings online gold lotro gold lord of the rings gold lord of the rings
    online gold Warhammer gold
    Warhammer online gold Warhammer money War gold War money Tabula Rasa Credit lotro gold lord of the rings gold lord of the rings online gold lord of the
    rings online gold lord of the rings
    gold Tabula Rasa Credit World of Warcraft gold PotBS Doubloon Pirates of the
    Burning Sea Doubloon PotBS Gold Pirates of the Burning Sea
    Gold lotro gold lord of the rings gold lord of the rings online gold Tabula Rasa Credit Warhammer gold Warhammer online gold PotBS Doubloon PotBS gold Pirates of the Burning Sea
    gold Pirates of the
    Burning Sea Doubloon

  13. Narendra permalink

    Not able to install the XAMLIT Plz help me

  14. peter juliano permalink

    ERROR DETAILS
    Following errors were detected during this operation.
    * [2/28/2011 9:05:32 AM] System.Deployment.Application.DeploymentDownloadException (Unknown subtype)
    – Downloading http://xamlt.com/runIt/XamlT_0_5_0_33/XamlT.exe.manifest did not succeed.
    – Source: System.Deployment
    – Stack trace:
    at System.Deployment.Application.SystemNetDownloader.DownloadSingleFile(DownloadQueueItem next)
    at System.Deployment.Application.SystemNetDownloader.DownloadAllFiles()
    at System.Deployment.Application.FileDownloader.Download(SubscriptionState subState)
    at System.Deployment.Application.DownloadManager.DownloadManifestAsRawFile(Uri& sourceUri, String targetPath, IDownloadNotification notification, DownloadOptions options, ServerInformation& serverInformation)
    at System.Deployment.Application.DownloadManager.DownloadApplicationManifest(AssemblyManifest deploymentManifest, String targetDir, Uri deploymentUri, IDownloadNotification notification, DownloadOptions options, Uri& appSourceUri, String& appManifestPath)
    at System.Deployment.Application.DownloadManager.DownloadApplicationManifest(AssemblyManifest deploymentManifest, String targetDir, Uri deploymentUri, Uri& appSourceUri, String& appManifestPath)
    at System.Deployment.Application.ApplicationActivator.DownloadApplication(SubscriptionState subState, ActivationDescription actDesc, Int64 transactionId, TempDirectory& downloadTemp)
    at System.Deployment.Application.ApplicationActivator.InstallApplication(SubscriptionState& subState, ActivationDescription actDesc)
    at System.Deployment.Application.ApplicationActivator.PerformDeploymentActivation(Uri activationUri, Boolean isShortcut, String textualSubId, String deploymentProviderUrlFromExtension, BrowserSettings browserSettings, String& errorPageUrl)
    at System.Deployment.Application.ApplicationActivator.ActivateDeploymentWorker(Object state)
    — Inner Exception —
    System.Net.WebException
    – The remote server returned an error: (404) Not Found.
    – Source: System
    – Stack trace:
    at System.Net.HttpWebRequest.GetResponse()
    at System.Deployment.Application.SystemNetDownloader.DownloadSingleFile(DownloadQueueItem next)

  15. andrew permalink

    Not sure if you will read this… but XamlT does not seem to install anymore, the deploy is receiving a 404 while trying to download the manifest.. any chance this is still available somewhere?

    • blaBlupp permalink

      And THAT is the main reason i don’t like clickonce. If i had downloaded it earlier as a “normal” EXE it would still run. Now it’s gone even if it’s there.

  16. giova permalink

    your clickonce installer doesn’t works for me. it says that components are missing (and don’t specify witch ones) . I have tons of Microsoft SDK installed so … clickonce = epicfail

  17. Came across an old, but great video at https://channel9.msdn.com/Events/PDC/PDC08/TL36… Is the sample source code still around for the XamlIt.Pad application shown in the video that provides a Dom Box view of the Xaml?

Leave a Reply

